The Fruits of Civilization (0) Title Page

This is the 6th book of Spokes of the Wheel, about what humans have accomplished. This book follows on the material presented in Spokes 5: The Echoes of the Mind.

Spokes explores existence: the wild cosmos, the untamed mind, and the social artifice which humanity has created.

The material presented in Spokes is cumulative. For fullest comprehension, read Spokes in order.

Clarity: The Path Inside
Spokes Θ: Unraveling Reality
Spokes 1: The Science of Existence
Spokes 2: The Web of Life
Spokes 3: The Elements of Evolution
Spokes 4: The Ecology of Humans
Spokes 5: The Echoes of the Mind
Spokes 6: The Fruits of Civilization
Spokes 7: The Pathos of Politics
Spokes 8: The Hub of Being

Clarity explains reality and how to become enlightened. The Science of Existence roams the universe and introduces the natural world. The Web of Life chronicles the wondrous variety of life. The Elements of Evolution tells life’s history and explains how organisms adapt. The Ecology of Humans explores the biological interfaces of the human body. The Echoes of the Mind pivots on people: how they feel, think, and behave. The Fruits of Civilization covers the consequences of human endeavors. The Pathos of Politics probes how polity has affected humanity. The Spokes series culminates in The Hub of Being, which is an exposition toward realization.


Each chapter has a synopsis. The book ends with a conclusion. In between are a lot of approximate numbers. Measurement is tricky, especially for economic statistics. Go with the gist.

The full table of contents for Spokes 6 is at: Spokes 6 Table of Contents.
Research references for Spokes 6 are at: Spokes 6 Notes.


In the web page version, the table of contents does not list every page. Use the forward and backward buttons (on the bottom of a page) to read page by page.